Posted by: aikithoughts | July 21, 2010

Changes

As I alluded in my last post, I’ve been thinking a great deal about this blog and what I would like to do with it. My original intention was to have a means of articulating some of my thoughts regarding aikido. My hope was that, by writing these thoughts down, I would spend less time talking on the mat. Those that train at my dojo can say with utmost certainty that the blog has failed in this regard. Still, I enjoy writing about aikido. Writing has always been one of the primary means through which I process ideas. I can honestly say that I have learned a lot about my own aikido practice simply by trying to write about it.

Now that I’m nearly 150 posts into the blog, I am finding that writing solely about aikido practice is more limiting than I’d like. In my post, No reprieve, I mention that the only way to practice aikido is to never stop practicing aikido. I have lost count of the number of ways in which aikido influences how I think and act, both on the mat and off. Consequently, I’ve decided to expand the blog to include three categories:

  • aikido. This is the default, of course. Posts in these categories will, as always, look at how we train and study the art of aikido. Sometimes, these entries will be specific to Kokikai Aikido, the style I choose to study. In general, though, I hope to write these posts in ways that are applicable to any style of aikido.
  • business. More and more, I find that I am very interested in how aikido principles could affect situations in a business environment. The obvious, of course, is redirecting the anger of an irate co-worker or boss. But there are aspects of aikido principles that I employ when I’m managing a project and leading a team. I also find, when reading the news about a particular company or other, that I try to discern if the decisions or actions by the company follow aikido principles or not, and how that affects the outcome. Do aikido principles lead to good business strategies and practices? I don’t know, but I’m interested in researching it.
  • daily life. Posts in this category have more to do with my family and my community. I should note that I’m taking a step I’ve rarely taken, and that is to include my thoughts on my faith in this category. I’m not saying I’ll write a lot about being a Jewish aikido instructor, but the idea might pop up on occasion. If it does, this is the category it will be in.

In addition to these categories, I’m going to start a new initiative. This Saturday marks my return to the mat after an over two-week absence. I took this time off because of my third child. My wife is still recovering from the operation, and can’t lift things heavier than, say, a newborn. (Needless to say, this has made our 18-month old son more than a little upset.)  When I return, I am starting a project called 100 Days on the Mat. As the name implies, I plan to write a blog post for the next 100 days I’m on the mat. I thought it would be interesting to see what sort of recurring themes or trends show up when I write at such a granular level. I’ve created a specific category just for these posts, should anyone be interested.

One last thing: I’ve heard from a few folks that they enjoy my blog. I recently learned that I could publish my blog so that it could be read on the Amazon Kindle and it’s associated applications. Apparently, you can subscribe to blogs for something like $1 a month, a portion of which would go to me. As I’m always looking at ways to support the dojo, I thought this might be worth looking into. If anyone has any thoughts on this (whether the Kindle or other publication means), please feel free to share them with me.

I look forward to writing more, reading more, and training more! I hope you do too.

Responses

  1. I’ve been following your blog for a few months and I think this is an awesome step…I also tend to think a lot about aikido principles at work in the business environment, so I’m looking forward to reading those posts.

    Congratulations on the new addition to your family, and welcome back to the mat!

  2. What I discovered during my 15 years with BP Oil was you train others in how they treat you by the way you deal with your daily interactions. I learned this while dealing with stuck-in-a-rut supervision and progressive supervision as well.

  3. My last commentary was addressed to the business section. Also, congratulations on the new family addition. Keep up the good work in all 4 fields.


Leave a Reply

Categories

