Posted by: aikithoughts | November 7, 2007

10 days and counting…

In 10 days, it begins….

The Aikido Kokikai International Convention in Seattle.

To say this is a huge event would be an understatement. There are so many people coming, from all over the nation and from Japan, to join Sensei here in Seattle to study aikido. It’s been a real honor to host this event, and I, along with a lot of other folks, have worked diligently to make this event be a success.

Unfortunately, it means that I chose to participate in this post-every-day-for-a-month challenge at a terrible time! Usually, when I write these posts, I spend a few days mulling things over, thinking about what I want to say. This week, I’ve had to just write–and to heck with the consequences! As a result, I’m sure the quantity of these posts has increased, but I’m not sure about the quality.

But I’m still game! I’ll do my best to write about the convention as it happens, and try to talk about some of the preparations we’re going through to make things a success. Meanwhile, I’m curious as to how many of folks have participated or hosted a large-scale event. What did you do to make it a success? What was it like? Perhaps we can all commiserate together.

Responses

  1. I was wondering how plans for the convention were going for you!

    I won’t be able to attend, unfortunately, so I’ll be relying on your daily posts to tell me how things are going. There’s motivation for ya! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Dave, Dave, Dave… tsk… tsk… quantity over quality? Isn’t that what you always say about Aikikai? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I hope you get to stop organizing long enough to actually enjoy the fruits of your labor. Have fun!

    e.

  3. That sounds like it will be a great experience. Good luck!

    If you run out of posts, pick up a good martial arts book and blog about it. I have a couple on hand just in case.


Leave a Reply

Categories

