Posted by: aikithoughts | March 19, 2007

Winter Camp, 2007, Part One

When I drove into Lawrenceville, MJ, I understood for the first time what the term, “idyllic,” meant. The entire town has a quiet, relaxed feeling to it, with old houses resting comfortably amidst the trees and fields. Even the local deli, which was gracious enough to help me shrug off the effects of my flight with an excellent roast beef bagel sandwich, had an easy feeling to it, with its patrons casually chatting over cups of coffee. It struck me as a town in which it is hard to be in a hurry, a town in which it is hard to remain tense.

In other words, a perfect place to study Kokikai aikido.

I arrived at the location for camp, the field house at the Lawrenceville School, quite a bit early. It wasn’t long before I saw the tell-tale signs of a camp setup in progress: a large truck pulled up, and two people quickly began unloading rolls and rolls of foam mats. Eager to shake off jet-lag, I introduced myself and started to help. As I rolled the mats into the field house, I was struck at how great the space was. Two-thirds of the entire roof consists of opaque skylights, which allows the entire facility to be bathed in a diffuse light. The field house is essentially an indoor track and field, so the mats were setup inside the oval track. It was during this time that I met Jorge, a young fifteen-year-old who was (I believe) about to be one of the youngest students ever to test for shodan. I also met Ron, one of Jorge’s teachers, an older gentleman who was quick to smile and even quicker to hand me more mats to unload from the truck. More and more people began to trickle in and, even though I had never met these people before, there was no doubt that we were all part of an extended Kokikai community.

After the mats were set up, I got changed and started meeting and re-meeting people. There are so many Kokikai aikidoka! And yet it is not hard to start remembering their names. One of the more amusing aspects of Camp for me was stating were I was from. At first, I simply said: “Everett, Washington.” That got me puzzled looks, which I didn’t understand until I realized that were trying to figure out where Everett was in the DC area! I quickly amended my statements to “Everett, in Washington State.” That stopped the confusion! There were a number of folks I haven’t seen in several years, and I was glad to see them.

It wasn’t long before it was time for the first class. By this point, the mat was filled with at least 200 people. As we started our warm-ups, I was reminded of something a friend of mine told me at a camp long ago. “The whole place sounds like soft thunder.” It’s the best description of the sound of several hundred people practicing large ukemi or tenkan that I’ve come across.

When Sensei Maruyama stepped onto the mat, the focus of the camp intensified. One of the things that I appreciate most about camps is that Sensei does not waste time on the more technical aspects of technique. To be sure, if he has a new idea or concept he is quick to teach it, but really camps are more about “the big ideas.” Perhaps the most important of these is, as Sensei says, to “discover one’s best feeling.” In fact, this camp I noticed a focus on being present, being aware, long before your opponent attacks. But, as Sensei pointed out, capturing your best feeling is not sufficient; it is only a start. One must find one’s best feeling, and then prove it through the application of technique. This was the first time I really considered this idea, which, upon further reflection, is really what the idea of a “Do” art is all about.

One of the things that really appeals to me in Kokikai aikido is that defeating your opponent is not enough. In fact, I think it’s likely that, by the time you reach shodan in Kokikai aikido, you have already learned and practiced enough of the physical techniques that you should have little doubt that you could defend yourself should the need arise. Were that the only goal, many of us would get our blackbelts and walk away. Instead, in Kokikai aikido technique becomes a reflection of who you are as individual. Do you think you are at peace with yourself? That you are calm, stable? Then step onto the mat and prove it through self-defense technique. I do not mean prove it to your teachers, peers, or students, although they are perhaps the most powerful aides in testing yourself. Instead, I am starting to realize that you are proving it to yourself, or to the universe at large–however you want to phrase it. If there was one idea I got from Winter Camp, it was that this “process of proof” is never-ending. Even Sensei Maruyama tests himself to ensure that he continues to grow.

More on winter camp soon.

Responses

  1. Your statement “defeating your opponent is not enough” got me thinking. I propose that defeating your opponent is not the goal of Kokikai, but merely a byproduct of what Sensei Maruyama calls “having your best feeling”. Defeating ones opponent is perhaps the grossest and most physically obvious outcome of this “best feeling state”, and the one beginning practitioners can most relate to. However, as other senior instructors have stated in their interpretations of Sensei’s message, the ultimate goal is the remove “impurities” from oneself, be calm and correct and use only as much effort as required for a task, and discover an inner strength and attitude that is nascent within us all. This fundamental “power” can be expressed only by the systematic removal of all extra embellishments and thought processes. On the mat we struggle not with our ukes but with ourselves, since all the resistance that we face is a reflection of our own inability to be fully in control of our own mind and body.

    If this thesis is valid, why do we practice, since it is only about ourselves? As Sensei Shevitz states, practice is a means of revealing our own shortcomings to ourselves. It is a testing ground for our own progress and development towards a goal. It is also a process that facilitates our growth by posing challenges, frustrations, conundrums that need to be overcome by peeling off the next layer of artifact. The difficulty is, of course, in identifying what that next layer is, and this is where our brethren, be they junior, the same rank or senior, provide invaluable insight and direction through their practice, their resistance and their advice. Camp accelerates this process like nothing else 🙂

    Abhijit Dasgupta


Leave a Reply

Categories

